Faculty Committees

School Personnel Committee 

In consonance with the procedures outlined in the Faculty Handbook (Chapter IV) concerning Departmental Personnel Committees, the Hayes School of Music personnel committee consists of 6 elected members of the tenured faculty and 2 elected members of the non-tenured faculty. One tenured alternate and one non-tenured alternate are elected to serve in the absence of a tenured or non-tenured faculty member. The tenured faculty members are elected to 3 year terms; the non-tenured faculty members and alternates are elected to one-year terms. No faculty member may serve more than three consecutive years. The School Personnel Committee is chaired by the Dean of the Hayes School of Music.

Search Committees

Search committees may be formed for the purposes of recommending qualified candidates for faculty positions. Search committees include members of the School Personnel Committee and other appointed members as agreed upon by the School Personnel Committee and the Dean of the Hayes School of Music.

Other Standing Committees

In addition to the School Personnel Committee, the Hayes School of Music has two standing faculty committees that meet on a regular basis: the Dean's Advisory Council and the Undergraduate Curriculum and Assessment Committee.

The Dean's Advisory Council (chaired by the Dean) meets monthly and is composed of the following representatives: coordinators of the performance areas (Brass/Percussion, Keyboard, Strings, Woodwinds, Voice); coordinators of two academic areas (Music Theory, Music History); coordinators of four program areas (Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy, and Performance); the Director of Bands; the Director of Choral Activities; the Director of Orchestras; and coordinator for Sacred Music.

The Undergraduate Curriculum and Assessment Committee is chaired by a faculty member on a three-year term. Membership includes coordinators of degree programs, concentrations, and core curricular areas or their delegates: Music Education, Music Industry Studies, Music Therapy, Performance, Music Theory, Music History, and Sacred Music. The dean and associate dean serve ex-officio. The UCAC is responsible for forwarding all curricular proposals to the full faculty and for administering the Hayes School's assessment activities in line with guidelines from the University Academic Assessment Committee.