Appalachian Wind Ensemble

Event date: 
Sunday, October 7, 2012 - 2:00pm
View Type: 
Public View
Live Stream: 
Live Stream Available

The Appalachian Wind Ensemble and soloist Alicia Chapmen will perform compositions from the 18th and 19th century.

The Hayes School of Music ensemble is directed by faculty members Dr. John Stanley Ross, Dr. Kevin Gray Richardson and graduate students from the music school.

Oboist Chapman also is a member of the music faculty. She will be the soloist for "Concertino for Oboe and Chamber Winds" by Carl Maria von Weber.

Other compositions on the program are Ron Nelson's "Rocky Point Holiday," Frank Ticheli's "Blue Shades," David Gillingham's "Concertino for Four Percussion and Wind Ensemble" featuring the wind ensemble's percussion section, and Vittorio Giannini's "Symphony No. 3."

The program concludes with Richard Wagner's "Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral."

Hayes School of Music
Contact name: 
Lynn Beebe
Contact email:
Contact telephone: 
Rosen Concert Hall