Concerto-Aria Competition Recital

Event date: 
Sunday, November 18, 2012 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
View Type: 
Public View
Live Stream: 
Not Streamed

A recital for the concerto-aria competition finals at Appalachian State University will be held in Broyhill Music Center's Rosen Concert Hall on campus. Admission is free.

Students competing in the competition are guitarist David Smith, alto saxophonist Khara Kowalski, tenor Chris Plaas, violinist Alexander Travers, pianist Molly Reid, flutiest Erica Spear and mezzo-soprano Paulina Villarreal.

Smith will perform the allegro moderato movement from Manuel M. Ponce's "Concierto del sur." Kowalski will perform the andante-allegro movement from "Concerto pour Saxophone Alto et Orchestra" by Henri Tomasi.

Plass has chosen "New York Lights" from "A View to the Bridge" by William Bolcom and "Vainement am bien Aimée" from Édouard Lalo's "Le Roi d'Ys" for his performance.

Travers will perform the allegro moderato from Henryk Wieniawski's "Concerto No. 2 in D Minor, Op. 22." Reid's performance pieces are the allegramente and presto movements from Maurice Ravel's "Piano Concerto in G Major."

Spear will perform the second movement from Carl Reinecke 's "Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in D Major, Op. 283" and Villarreal will sing "Cruda Sorte!" from Rossini's "L'Italiano in Algeri" and "I am easily assimilated" from Leonard Bernstein's "Candide."

The annual concerto-aria competition identifies the most advanced performers in the Hayes School of Music and gives them the opportunity to gain experience as featured soloists. A panel of judges will select up to three winners who will perform with the Appalachian Symphony Orchestra in the spring.

Hayes School of Music
Contact name: 
Lynn Beebe
Contact email:
Contact telephone: 
Rosen Concert Hall