Drew Leslie/Trombone & Chris Blaha/Tuba Faculty Recital

Event date: 
Sunday, February 10, 2013 - 8:00pm - 9:00pm
View Type: 
Public View
Live Stream: 
Live Stream Available

Tuba player Christopher J. Blaha and trombonist Drew Leslie will present a faculty recital at Appalachian State University. Blaha and Leslie are members of the Hayes School of Music faculty at Appalachian.

Accompanying Blaha and Leslie will be pianist Bair Shagdaron and horn player Karen L. Robertson.

The program opens with "Sonata," a 1976 composition by Bruce Broughton. The duo also will perform "Daybreak" and "Sunset" by Nicola Ferro.

Blaha will play his arrangement of Domenico Gabrieli's "Ricercar No. 7 for Violoncello Solo." A ricercar is a compositional style from the late Renaissance and early Baroque periods.

Leslie will premier Shawn H. Milloway's "...the Body Electric." Milloway is a senior music performance major at Appalachian.

Also on the program is Ástor Piazzolla's "Three Tangos," J. Edouard Barat's "Andante et Allegro" and John Stevens' "Triangles."

Hayes School of Music
Contact name: 
Lynn Beebe
Contact email: 
Contact telephone: 
Rosen Concert Hall