Melissa Lesbines

Melissa Lesbines
First Name: 
Last Name: 
Main Title: 
Lecturer of Collaborative Piano
Office Location: 
Room 316B, Edwin Duncan Hall
Phone Number: 

Pianist, Melissa Lesbines, has performed extensively as soloist and chamber musician. She has appeared as soloist with the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra under the direction of JoAnn Falletta, the Buffalo Philharmonic with Mitch Miller, the Milwaukee Chamber Orchestra, the Stamford Chamber Orchestra, the Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra, and the Western Piedmont Symphony. She has performed with such groups as Cincinnati Percussion Ensemble, Present Music, Essential Music of New York, and toured in the United States and Europe as keyboardist with Laura Dean Musicians and Dancers. Ms. Lesbines founded and directed the Chamber Music Westchester Concert Series in Bronxville, NY. The series featured performers from the Metropolitan Opera and Metropolitan Opera Orchestra.

After studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Ms. Lesbines earned both a Master's and Bachelor's degree from the Eastman School of Music. Her teachers include Peter Serkin, Rebecca Penneys, André Laplante, and Seymour Bernstein.

Since 2006, she has served on the faculty of the Hayes School of Music at Appalachian State University. Most recently she developed online review materials to accompany A History of Western Music (9th edition), Concise History of Western Music (5th edition), and The Enjoyment of Music (11th edition), published by W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.